•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Software for astrophotography

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sporocyte

Sporocyte

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Readhimer, Louisiana

Posted 23 May 2019 - 08:51 PM

Before I retired I worked in image analysis from photography and other sources. The first software I used was a NASA -developed program named ELAS (totally command line) which was commercialized as ERDAS and vastly extended and improved, a largely raster-based system. Later I used ESRI’s ArcMap, a largely vector based environment which is unlikely to have any astronomy application at all.

The reason I mention my background is that some of the imagery techniques used in astrophotography post processing are very familiar to me (histogram stretch, convolutions, etc).

So what software should I look at?

I have a DSLR (Canon TS3i) some manual lenses from 55 mm manual up to a Celestron C90. And a Skywatcher EQ3-r Mount That is on a pier and for which I’m building a roll-off observatory. I live in very rural North Louisiana between Ruston and Natchitoches. Good luck finding that on a map! But it’s pretty dark and I listen to the frogs sing love songs as I look at the stars.

#2 jerahian

jerahian

Ranger 4

• Loc: Maine

Posted 23 May 2019 - 09:15 PM

Lucky for us all, the software is probably the least expensive part of this hobby.  There would be several for you to look at for different parts of what you are looking to do.  These are as follows:

Planetarium - for planning and gotos if you want your mount to be PC connected for slewing to targets.  For this, there are a couple of options:

Image Capture

• BackyardEOS (license) - automated image capture and sequencing for your DSLR