•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Auto guiding

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 drknapper

drknapper

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: West Haven, Utah

Posted 24 May 2019 - 09:46 PM

I'm new to auto guiding and I need help getting my guide scope setup.  I have a classic C8 on the new Advanced VX mount.  I have the Orion SSAG mounted in the Orion mini 50mm with all the wires hooked up to my aux port and my PC.  I'm trying to set up the latest PHD2 software but can't get anything to work!  Can anyone give me step my step instructions on what options to set in what menus.  The Orion ssag book doesn't help.

#2 sc285

sc285

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Northeastern KS

Posted 24 May 2019 - 10:03 PM

https://www.youtube....h?v=Mt0luBLaHDw

#3 Jim Davis

Jim Davis

Soyuz

• Loc: Lewisberry, PA

Posted 24 May 2019 - 10:19 PM

A USB cable should run from your PC to the camera, and one from your PC to the bottom of the hand controller. Of course, the hand controller needs hooked to the mount. Load the drivers for the camera. Load ASCOM and the ASCOM driver for your mount. Forget using the ST4 cable from the camera to the mount. Not needed.

In PHD2, select the Orion camera as the camera, and your mount as the mount.

#4 drknapper

drknapper

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 May 2019 - 11:00 PM

What/where do I get the cable from the hand controller to my USB computer port?

#5 Stelios

Stelios

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 25 May 2019 - 02:51 AM

What/where do I get the cable from the hand controller to my USB computer port?

Well, it depends what year AVX you have.

Anything shipped after 2017 will have a mini-USB port. Just get a mini USB cable like this from Amazon.