•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

unable to get a even balance

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 supertrucker

supertrucker

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: weatherford texas

Posted 25 May 2019 - 01:32 AM

hello, i'm new to the hobby and just started to learn my new equipment after several attempts i am unable to get anywhere near a perfect balance just when i think i have it balanced rotate the R A  or the same situation in the DEC just when i think it appears balanced it's not. i have a orion siruis pro az eq-g mount and a orion 150mm maksutov a 9 x 50 illuminated RA finder scope a 2" diagonal a dew shield that weighs about 1/2 pound and the polar alignment scope that mounts on to the left side of the mount. i think the finder scope may be the issue it sits kinda high and heavy also the polar align scope is on same side on the mount. my final balance is close but i'm not sure if this can damage the goto motors gears belts ect-.

• Gary Z likes this

#2 Gary Z

Gary Z

Apollo

• Loc: New Mexico

Posted 25 May 2019 - 01:57 AM

Why do you think it isn't balanced?    Sounds like you're setup for visual, and if you are very close, it should not be a problem.  Your polar alignment scope should not factor in your balancing.  Only your scope, your accessories attached to it and your counterweights for balancing out.   

To alleviate any confusion over what you are doing, it might be a good idea get some pictures of how you have things on your mount.  You can then upload to your gallery or save the images to the cloud and link to your images there.  

Gary

#3 supertrucker

supertrucker

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 May 2019 - 02:27 AM

okay next time i have it set up i will take some pic's and post them 

#4 supertrucker

supertrucker

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter