•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Aperture and mount dilemma

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 Ben_gimbel32

Ben_gimbel32

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pennsylvania

Posted 26 May 2019 - 10:39 AM

I purchased an ED ES80 FCD100 Apo along with an explore scientific IEXOS-100.  I have been having major issues with the mount, my Astronomy experience has been a major struggle. I initial was looking at the ES127apo fcd100 it is still  my dream scope, but I also wanted to possibly dabble in Astrophotography. So far, I have done neither visual or astrophotography. I have been fiddling around with this mount and software for three months.

Without question I need a new mount I don’t believe my current mount has done my refractor any justice, and I am planning on keeping it for the time being. I would like a mount with a great hand controller, something lightweight but sturdy and easy to use, keep in mind I am a complete novice. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions, on a new mount.

Best Regards,

Ben

#2 Hesiod

Hesiod

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 26 May 2019 - 11:01 AM

Which are the main issues you have faced so far?

#3 GoFish

GoFish

Apollo

• Loc: Colorado/Kentucky

Posted 26 May 2019 - 11:22 AM

Mounts with which I have personal experience and can recommend:

• Orion Atlas (rebranded SkyWatcher NEQ-6)
  • Orion Sirius (rebranded SkyWatcher HEQ-5)
  • Celestron Advanced VX, aka AVX

Each of the above is more than adequate for visual with your 80mm refractor. The Celestron hand control firmware is a little better, but the Atlas and Sirius are more capable for astrophotography.

The Atlas is heavy, but could be a lifetime mount. It easily handles my ED80, 8” Newtonians, and 8” SCT. I believe it would handle an 11” SCT or a 6” refractor, too.