Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How to use Sharpcap with a DSLR, Part II, jpg files

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Rickster

Rickster

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2008
  • Loc: NC Kansas Bortle 3 SQM 21.8+

Posted 26 May 2019 - 10:49 PM

As you may recall, I posted a how to use an ASCOM driver to link Canon DSLRs to Sharpcap.  The problem is that the ASCOM driver is not fully developed and has limited functionality.  For example, it only works with RAW files and doesn't work with jpg.  It also has slow download speeds because it has to convert the RAW files to FITS files. 

 

But guess what, Sharpcap already has a built in feature for accepting jpg files from DSLRs.  And it is fast.

 

Here is how.

 

Basically, this is like using Astrotoaster.  You use EOS Utility to control the camera and download the images to a monitor folder.  And you set up Sharpcap to monitor that folder and automatically process the images as they come in.  It is easy and works great. 

 

First, click the little file folder symbol in EOS Utility and set up a download folder (just like you would for Astrotoaster).  Write it down or remember it.  If you set it up to generate a dated folder, then you will need to take a test shot to make the camera generate the new folder (that is the way I do it).

 

In the Main toolbar at the top left of the Sharpcap page, click on "Camera" and select "Folder Monitor Camera."

 

This will open a "Camera Controls" section in the right hand tool bar.  Click "Browse" and select the download folder that you created.  Then click the "All In Folder" button.  Immediately below will be what looks like video controls.  Click the "Play" arrow.  You may want to read the instructions for these controls (search help for monitor).

 

Alright, you are ready to go.  Set your sub-exposure length, ISO and such in EOSU.  Then click on the Stopwatch button.  Click the "Remote Interval Shooting" checkbox.  Type in a shooting interval that is a few seconds longer than your sub-exposure length.  Then type in the number of shots that you want to take.  Click "Start." 

 

Your camera will begin taking exposures and downloading them.  SC will immediately pick them up and process them as if they came from an Astrocam.  You can now use any of the tools, such as everybody's favorite, polar align.

 

Oh, if you want to do RAWs, you will need to use the ASCOM driver instead.  https://www.cloudyni...ap-with-a-dslr/


Edited by Rickster, 26 May 2019 - 10:49 PM.

  • Ptarmigan likes this

#2 Rickster

Rickster

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 933
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2008
  • Loc: NC Kansas Bortle 3 SQM 21.8+

Posted 26 May 2019 - 10:56 PM

I should mention that this method will work with any brand of camera that has an app to automatically download files as they are taken.



#3 Jeff Lee

Jeff Lee

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,693
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2006

Posted 27 May 2019 - 10:14 AM

Works well with my Panasonic cameras, the watch folder. Big plus you you dial in your exposure in the cameras software and SC gets images as good as your camera can produce. As said JPEG only.


  • Rickster likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics