•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Cant Get Clear Round Image from SolarmaxIII,Any Help?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 melllince

melllince

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 May 2019 - 07:48 AM

Hi all,newbie here.

I have just phased a Coronado Solarmax III 70mm BF15 DS from OPT,and recived today.Follow the manuals,I try to get clear sharp round image,but when I try to get focus,I got that from the eyepiece(show in bottom).In right-down and left-up corner,It looks as many solar disk stack closely,looks like a comet.

I have tried with all three tuners,focus again and again,change eyepieces,no success.

Want to know which part of the telescope cause this,Anyone can help me?

Sorry for my poor English.

taken by cellphone from the eyepiece:

solarmax_20190527180845.png

#2 BYoesle

BYoesle

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Washington USA

Posted 27 May 2019 - 10:26 AM

One of your etalons has suffered damage from a sharp blow or fall and is "decontacted." One or more of the etalon spacers has become loose and the filter is therefore not only off-band, the etalon plates (mirrors) are no longer parallel and you have a multitude of off-band images similar to two mirrors facing each other at an amusement park "fun house." Hopefully it is only one of the etalons and not both.

Regardless, the scope will need to be returned for repair or replacement. If you got it like this, it is on them to do this repair or replacement at no cost.

You should contact OPT immediately to discuss the situation.

Edited by BYoesle, 27 May 2019 - 11:01 AM.

#3 Eikonal

Eikonal

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 27 May 2019 - 10:47 AM

Seems like someone has beaten me to it ;-)

Anyway: with a bit of explanation...

Hello,