•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What happens to Jupiter

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Roragi

Roragi

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Orion arm

Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:39 AM

These last two months when there is little time to leave my dark sky, I spend some time looking at Jupiter. This season I see it really weird, I see the equatorial bands with a dull color and the rest of the planet equally and the details are very bad.

I'm not a planetary expert at all, can anyone tell if I've seen this too? Maybe it's further from the earth?

The seeing was not good in this observation, but I really know what it looks like when it's bad with instability.

#2 Barlowbill

Barlowbill

Viking 1

• Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma

Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:45 AM

My views so far this year shows very little color and barely visible banding.  Moons were clearly visible but just bright little dots.  While I do not know how far Jup is currently from earth, It lives between about 365 and 601 million miles away.  Might be a few years until it gets close again. 

#3 Garyth64

Garyth64

Skylab

• Loc: SE Michigan

Posted 13 June 2019 - 11:57 AM

It is also the lowest in the sky that it's been in years.

• gene 4181, Bob4BVM, Steve Cox and 3 others like this

#4 happylimpet

happylimpet

Skylab

• Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 13 June 2019 - 12:05 PM

Its essentially the same distance that it is at opposition (which it is this week) every year.

However it is, as said above, very low in the southern sky, which doesnt help us northerners.

Also, the SEB (southern equatorial belt), one of the two main belts, is quite pale and doing some odd things, as is the GRS - worth reading up about. Also the equatorial zone is quite dark this year which reduces apparent contrast.

• Dave Mitsky and Cali like this

#5 lcdisease

lcdisease