•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Changing observation location vs Plane Wave (SGP PlateSolve)

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 claudioarchi

claudioarchi

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Montreal, QC, Canada

Posted 14 June 2019 - 09:27 AM

Hi all, I’m new to astrophoto. From what I understand we need to set latitude and longitude inside the plane wave tool for Platesolve to work properly. As for now, it’s working fine and i"m able to Platesolve easily from my backyard. But I’ll be going to a dark sky area that for sure will change my coordinates. Do I need to change latitude and longitude on the Plane Wave parameters?

Thank you all for your advice

I also posted this question on MainSequence Software forum:

http://forum.mainseq...lane-wave/10018

Attached Thumbnails

• Annotation 2019-06-14 101420.jpg

#2 han59

han59

Mariner 2

• Loc: the Netherlands

Posted 15 June 2019 - 01:13 AM

In plate solving they could only be used to correct for a really tiny atmospheric refraction near the horizon. Other solver programs don't include them since the effect is in practice not noticeable for solving. So the stars in the south part of the image could be a little warped compared with stars in the north part of the image. There is no need to update the location.

Same for the catalog epoch. Changing the epoch doesn't influence the solve result measurable.

#3 OldManSky

OldManSky

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 16 June 2019 - 03:35 PM

If SGP is connected to your mount (via ASCOM), it will send your lat/lon from your mount setup to the Platesolve software automatically.  You shouldn't ever have to enter it into Platesolve at all.  SGP (and NINA, which I use) do it for you.

Same with the "guess" RA/DEC coordinates for the solve.

#4 claudioarchi

claudioarchi

Explorer 1

• -----