•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

asi1600 pro color

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rbc1us

rbc1us

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 June 2019 - 03:24 PM

can any one tell me whats the point of takeing 100 or 200 or 300 60 sec shots on a single shot color cam I don't under stand what you gain any help would be appreciated im new to single shot cam

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

Hubble

Posted 15 June 2019 - 03:31 PM

can any one tell me whats the point of takeing 100 or 200 or 300 60 sec shots on a single shot color cam I don't under stand what you gain any help would be appreciated im new to single shot cam

More total imaging time always gets you better signal to noise ratio. 

The optimal subexposure time depends on the read noise of your camera and your light pollution level.  Once you're in the ballpark there, more subs are always better.

Explained in more detail, with graphs, here (and other places).

https://jonrista.com...duction-part-1/

A decent way to think about it is this.  More total imaging time means you gather more signal.   Twice as much total imaging time, 2X as much signal.  But noise goes up as the square root of the total imaging time.  Twice as much total imaging time only increases the noise by 1.4X.  So, it's a winner.

Edited by bobzeq25, 15 June 2019 - 03:35 PM.

• 2ghouls likes this

#3 OldManSky

OldManSky

Apollo

• Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 15 June 2019 - 03:42 PM

To add to what Bob said...

You could do a single 20-minute shot instead of 20 1-minute shots -- and you'd only get read noise from 1 shot.  You win, right?

Except you don't win.