Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New USB Port on EQ6-R

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Yob Snob

Yob Snob

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Posted 16 June 2019 - 06:38 AM

Picked up a new Sky-Watcher EQ6-R Pro telescope mount last week from OPT Telescopes and was surprised to see the addition of a new USB port on the mount head. This must be a very new update to this model, because I don't see it shown anywhere online yet.

 

Unboxing Video:

https://youtu.be/Y3aGG-8zUTA

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • USBport.jpg

  • PirateMike likes this

#2 AhBok

AhBok

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2137
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 16 June 2019 - 07:27 AM

That is very interesting! I hope that means you can connect the mount to a PC without the hand controller.
  • PirateMike likes this

#3 Yob Snob

Yob Snob

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Posted 16 June 2019 - 07:29 AM

That is very interesting! I hope that means you can connect the mount to a PC without the hand controller.

I hope so too.  I haven't even installed any software yet.



#4 PirateMike

PirateMike

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2354
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013
  • Loc: A Green Dot On A Blue Sea

Posted 16 June 2019 - 07:35 AM

I have first seen this change here... https://www.cloudyni...d-issue-solved/

 

You should read this tread to see how to use the USB connection.

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.



#5 AhBok

AhBok

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2137
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 16 June 2019 - 08:08 AM

Thanks for that. This is a nice change. I wish mine had this.
  • PirateMike likes this

#6 PirateMike

PirateMike

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2354
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2013
  • Loc: A Green Dot On A Blue Sea

Posted 16 June 2019 - 08:49 AM

Thanks for that. This is a nice change. I wish mine had this.

I believe that you can connect a computer directly to your EQ6-R Pro mount, I always have my Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G mount controlled directly by computer. You need an EQDir cable which is a specialty cable hand made specifically for this purpose.

 

http://www.store.sho...products_eq.htm

 

You will also need a few free programs like Ascom, EQMod, and Cartes du Ciel (CdC) and the required drivers.

 

Here is a website that explains how to do it... https://www.atm-work...pc-connect.html

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.


Edited by PirateMike, 16 June 2019 - 08:55 AM.


#7 Yob Snob

Yob Snob

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Posted 16 June 2019 - 09:16 AM

I have first seen this change here... https://www.cloudyni...d-issue-solved/

 

You should read this tread to see how to use the USB connection.

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.

Oh it looks like there is a lot of great info there, thanks!



#8 Yob Snob

Yob Snob

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Posted 16 June 2019 - 09:16 AM

I believe that you can connect a computer directly to your EQ6-R Pro mount, I always have my Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G mount controlled directly by computer. You need an EQDir cable which is a specialty cable hand made specifically for this purpose.

 

http://www.store.sho...products_eq.htm

 

You will also need a few free programs like Ascom, EQMod, and Cartes du Ciel (CdC) and the required drivers.

 

Here is a website that explains how to do it... https://www.atm-work...pc-connect.html

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.

Thanks for the info!



#9 jdupton

jdupton

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1707
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Central Texas, USA

Posted 16 June 2019 - 11:36 AM

Miguel,

 

I believe that you can connect a computer directly to your EQ6-R Pro mount, I always have my Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G mount controlled directly by computer. You need an EQDir cable which is a specialty cable hand made specifically for this purpose.

 

http://www.store.sho...products_eq.htm

 

You will also need a few free programs like Ascom, EQMod, and Cartes du Ciel (CdC) and the required drivers.

 

Here is a website that explains how to do it... https://www.atm-work...pc-connect.html

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.

   Note that with the new version of the EQ6R-Pro, you no longer need the Shoestring EQDIR cable. You can directly connect the mount and the PC with a standard USB Printer cable (USB type-A to USB type-B). Once you figure out which COM port is being used by the mount connection, the rest of the tutorial you linked will go the same.

 

 

 

Yob Snob,

 

   Just remember to follow user MikeECha's advice in that other thread and set the communications rate to 115,200 in the COM Port set up on windows.

https://www.cloudyni...d/#entry9423762

 

   That thread was the first time I had seen mention of the USB port on the EQ6R-Pro. Prior images of that mount (and the SkyWatcher site) show nothing. It's great they have added the direct USB port on this mount.

 

 

John

 

PS: A clarification note about the Tutorial. If you connect from the mount to the PC directly with the USB cable, you must use EQMOD as your ASCOM driver. If you connect the HandControl to the Mount and the PC to the Hand Control, you can use either the SkyWatcher ASCOM driver or the EQMOD ASCOM driver as described in the tutorial.


Edited by jdupton, 16 June 2019 - 11:41 AM.

  • elmiko and AhBok like this

#10 Yob Snob

Yob Snob

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Posted 16 June 2019 - 12:20 PM

Miguel,

 

   Note that with the new version of the EQ6R-Pro, you no longer need the Shoestring EQDIR cable. You can directly connect the mount and the PC with a standard USB Printer cable (USB type-A to USB type-B). Once you figure out which COM port is being used by the mount connection, the rest of the tutorial you linked will go the same.

 

 

 

Yob Snob,

 

   Just remember to follow user MikeECha's advice in that other thread and set the communications rate to 115,200 in the COM Port set up on windows.

https://www.cloudyni...d/#entry9423762

 

   That thread was the first time I had seen mention of the USB port on the EQ6R-Pro. Prior images of that mount (and the SkyWatcher site) show nothing. It's great they have added the direct USB port on this mount.

 

 

John

 

PS: A clarification note about the Tutorial. If you connect from the mount to the PC directly with the USB cable, you must use EQMOD as your ASCOM driver. If you connect the HandControl to the Mount and the PC to the Hand Control, you can use either the SkyWatcher ASCOM driver or the EQMOD ASCOM driver as described in the tutorial.

Thanks for the advice, John.



#11 AhBok

AhBok

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2137
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 16 June 2019 - 01:25 PM

I believe that you can connect a computer directly to your EQ6-R Pro mount, I always have my Atlas Pro AZ/EQ-G mount controlled directly by computer. You need an EQDir cable which is a specialty cable hand made specifically for this purpose.

 

http://www.store.sho...products_eq.htm

 

You will also need a few free programs like Ascom, EQMod, and Cartes du Ciel (CdC) and the required drivers.

 

Here is a website that explains how to do it... https://www.atm-work...pc-connect.html

 

 

Miguel   8-)

 

.

Thanks. Yep. I’ve been using the EQDIR cable for some time, but I was commenting on being able to use a simple USB cable either the latest version. Nice!


  • Yob Snob likes this

#12 skyward_eyes

skyward_eyes

    Vendor - Sky-Watcher USA

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5003
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2006

Posted 16 June 2019 - 04:02 PM

The EQ6-R USB board is a rolling change that is occurring at this time. It does not affect the actual use of the mount.

The USB allows users to plug direct into the mount and control using the SynScan Pro app for Windows. The app will run in the background while control is moved over the the software of choice.

Protocols are exactly the same as using the controller which is still included. Control can still be done through the controller as well.
  • AhBok and lspensieri like this

#13 AhBok

AhBok

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2137
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 16 June 2019 - 11:01 PM

So this means I could run the mount without the hand controller with SynScan Pro and then connect to EQMOD if I wanted to through SynScan Pro? Correct?

#14 skyward_eyes

skyward_eyes

    Vendor - Sky-Watcher USA

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5003
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2006

Posted 17 June 2019 - 12:10 AM

So this means I could run the mount without the hand controller with SynScan Pro and then connect to EQMOD if I wanted to through SynScan Pro? Correct?


That is the plan. I need to test it with other softwares.
  • jdupton likes this

#15 lspensieri

lspensieri

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2019
  • Loc: New York City

Posted 02 July 2019 - 12:38 PM

The EQ6-R USB board is a rolling change that is occurring at this time. It does not affect the actual use of the mount.

The USB allows users to plug direct into the mount and control using the SynScan Pro app for Windows. The app will run in the background while control is moved over the the software of choice.

Protocols are exactly the same as using the controller which is still included. Control can still be done through the controller as well.

Amazing! My EQ6-R Pro also has this USB port on the mount.

 

Can I use this port to connect directly to a Mac running INDI software like KStars and Ekos?


  • J.A Seville likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics