•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best Beginner Telescope

beginner equipment
  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 arxhie

arxhie

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 June 2019 - 09:36 AM

Hello!

I was wondering what all of you think would be the best telescope for someone like me!

I am quite new in the world of astronomy, however, I have always had a huge interest in space!

I live in Sydney, Australia, the area doesn't have terrible light pollution although it isn't great. I currently have a little table top dob which isn't terrible but i'd love to look at something other than the moon ahah. I was looking at getting a Dobsonian telescope (around 8+ inches) but i'm not 100% sure. My backyard is kinda small with heaps of huge trees and some bushes which hang over it, front garden is bigger with a better view of the sky but hosting a telescope up and down might be a tad annoying (I would probably still go down but its not ideal). 

I have had my eye out on some telescopes on gumtree as they're quite cheap (8"-12" dobs from around AU$350-$550) :)

any advice is good advice so please, comment it all :))

#2 Dynan

Dynan

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: NOLA

Posted 17 June 2019 - 09:44 AM

The James Webb would be best...and work your way down from there. smirk.gif

Always remember, your future in this wonderful hobby is based on the MOUNT you use. Make it the priority, for visual or imaging, and you'll be happier longer. As far as scopes, after your mount (or the one included in any kit you buy), get what you can comfortably afford. Because there are many peripheral purchases headed your way. waytogo.gif

• Akol47 likes this

#3 CWard

CWard

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 17 June 2019 - 09:47 AM

Since you have a little bit of experience with your little tabletop dob, what kind of objects are you looking to see.