•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron Omni 120mm vs Orion 120mm Astroveiw ST

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 ShaneinSpace

ShaneinSpace

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 June 2019 - 10:48 AM

I am fairly new to Astronomy. I purchased a Celestron Inspire 100mm Telescope for my 4yo son, Shane. Now he is 5yo. After viewing Jupiter and its 4 moons this week i want to upgrade our Telescope since he shows intrest way more then I expected him to. He is constantly asking me to go outside with the Telescope. Anyways...i am on a very fixed budget so I want a scope for around $500-600. I'll be using the Telescope to mainly view ANYTHING in Space. I am looking for something that will give me clarity and details over seeing a wider image. We like the details. I also noticed when I used a 2x Barlow lenses on a 10mm eyepeice that the image of Jupiter became "blurry" and adjustments made more difficult. So if like a scope that you could use different lenses and Barlow to take full advantage of the scope. I wish I was more knowledgeable about Telescopes to give the technical terms lol but I'll learn as I go. Any info and even pictures would be so appreciated. Thank you so much!
  • Jon Isaacs and Cali like this

#2 Augustus

Augustus

Fly Me To The Moon

• Loc: Connecticut

Posted 17 June 2019 - 10:58 AM

I'd avoid both and get a 10" or 8" Dob.

• beanerds likes this

#3 wrvond

wrvond

Surveyor 1

• Loc: West Virginia

Posted 17 June 2019 - 11:39 AM