•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

DSS Gone Wild

astrophotography beginner
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 NCG1978

NCG1978

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 June 2019 - 10:47 PM

***didn't realize screen shots wouldn't stay in post.  I managed to attach a screen shot of the final DSS output. Trying the same for one of my subs says file is still too large.***dss_final.PNG

Hello,

Let me preface with the disclaimer that I am an AP beginner.  I have a few months under my belt and a few OK'ish images.  In my journey so far I've made about every mistake possible.  The one aspect I have never had an issue with, however, is Deep Sky Stacker - until now.  It pretty much says what it does on the tin:  I chose my lights, darks, flats, bias, and tell it to do its thing with recommended settings.  In a few minutes I have a giant .TIF file that I can than proceed to mutilate in post processing. 

I started AP as Orion was on his way out the door for the year and smack in the middle of galaxy season, so images of Bode's, Cigar, Pinwheel, etc are all that is in my portfolio.  My OTA was really not made for galaxies.  I am using a Meade 6000ED 70MM Quad APO and so wide nebula are what I am really looking forward too.  Saturday night I got my chance: the North American Nebula was high and seeing was pretty good.  I got about an hour and a half with my cheap T6 but could tell as the subs came in that we might have an alright pic.  Not so much.  The usually trusty DSS software acted normally and I watched the star count go over 60,000.  My heart sank after seeing the stacked image. A couple of stars are visible but there are these artifacts that stretch in arcs across the entire photo I have no idea what could be causing them.

Here is one of my subs - 240 seconds (in pretty heavy LP) - all files in RAW