•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Which telescope?

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Rhy052

Rhy052

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 June 2019 - 06:12 PM

Hello!

I am new to Cloudy Nights, but I have been doing research on telescopes. I want a telescope that is good for deep space viewing, compatible with multiple lenses, and also with my phone to take pictures. (I know I will have to buy that add on) Overall, my current budget is $250. From what it seems, it doesn’t look like getting all that for my price is possible. My birthday is coming up in a couple months and so is Christmas, so if I have to I can go higher up in price and wait. I just want to find the exact telescope that I want so I can possibly save up if needed. I would be able to save probably up to $400 something for the telescope, but less if I want everything else.

I have been looking at the following telescopes: Orion StarBlast 4.5 Equatorial Reflector, Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Newtonian, Celestron NexStar 127SLT Mak, Celestron NexStar 90SL Mak, and the Celestron NexStar 4SE. For the first two, I would buy it now, but for the Celestron NexStars I would have to wait. (I know, it’s a lot)

Overall, I just need help figuring this out because my mind keeps changing, and I want to be certain on one.

#2 DLuders

DLuders

Gemini

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 18 June 2019 - 06:34 PM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights!  I own both the Orion StarBlast 4.5 Reflector and the Celestron Nexstar 127SLT Mak.  The StarBlast a low-magnification, wide-field telescope while the 127mm Mak is good for high-magnification views of planets and the Moon.  

You could see the Cloudy Nights Classifieds section  https://www.cloudyni...om/classifieds/  to get some gently-used equipment within your budget.   smile.gif 

#3 gnowellsct

gnowellsct

Hubble