•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need help looking for an eyepiece

eyepieces
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 ShotPocket

ShotPocket

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 June 2019 - 02:04 PM

I have an Orion Starblast 6 reflector telescope. I am trying to find a good eyepiece that would give a good, clear, and maybe slightly bigger view of planets and such. Any recommendations?

I also stumbled upon this eyepiece, will this be what I'm looking for? (Sorry I'm a noob at this stuff) https://www.amazon.c...8-1-spons&psc=1

#2 Garyth64

Garyth64

Soyuz

• Loc: SE Michigan

Posted 19 June 2019 - 02:18 PM

Take a look at the ES 52 degree series eyepieces.

I believe the Orion Starblast may have come with 2 eyepieces 10mm and a 25mm and a barlow.

If so, do you like the views with those eyepieces?  Have you used the 10mm with the barlow? 

That eyepiece you mentioned may work very well.

Edited by Garyth64, 19 June 2019 - 02:29 PM.

#3 bobito

bobito

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Litchfield County, CT

Posted 19 June 2019 - 02:36 PM

Budget is the largest factor here. 

You'll want to be around 200-250x for the best view on planets.  In your scope that's an eyepiece in the 3.5mm range.  You can likely find a 4mm Ortho for less than $100 used, but that would have horrible eye relief.  And when you start looking at eyepieces with good eye relief around 3.5mm the prices are over $100.

Perhaps a barlow?  A 3x barlow would make the 10mm EP that came with your scope a 3.33mm and about 225x which is perfect for planets on many nights.

#4 ShotPocket

ShotPocket

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 June 2019 - 02:38 PM

I have good views with the 10mm, yes. 

#5 ShotPocket

ShotPocket

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 June 2019 - 02:52 PM

Take a look at the ES 52 degree series eyepieces.