•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

A question about setting the grey/midpoint using the "Levels" tool

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 descott12

descott12

Apollo

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Charlotte, NC

Posted 19 June 2019 - 07:43 PM

Hello all,
I am pretty new to image processing and I am using the Levels tool in Gimp. I understand what it means to set the black or white level, but it is not completely clear what is actually happening to the pixel values when you change the grey/midpoint value. The values range from 10.0 on the left to 1.0 in the center to 0.1 all the way to the right. Moving to the left clearly brightens and to the right it darkens.  But my question is what actually happens to a pixel with an RGB value of 200,100,150, for example, when you change the midpoint?

Thanks in advance to anyone that can explain this in terms of the mathematics.

#2 Jon Rista

Jon Rista

ISS

• Loc: Colorado

Posted 19 June 2019 - 11:16 PM

I cannot tell you the exact formula used by Gimp, but "Levels" are usually some kind of midtone transfer function (MTF). In PixInsight, HistogramTransformation is basically the levels tool. It's formula is as so:

--

| 0      ; x = 0

| 0.5    ; x = m

MTF(x,m) = -| 1      ; x = 1

|

| R(x,m) ; otherwise

--

R(x,m) = [(m - 1)*x)] / [(2*m - 1) * x - m] 

Gimps formula is most likely not the same here, but it is probably something similar. By default in PixInsight, the midpoint, m = 0.5. If you shift the midpoint to the left, say to 0.25, then a pixel with the value 200(BTW, all pixel values are floats with the range of 0.0 - 1.0 in PixInsight...if we assume 200 is on a 16-bit scale that would be 0.00305) would run through the function R(x,m):

R(x,m) = [(0.25 - 1)*0.00305)] / [(2*0.25 - 1)*0.00305- 0.25]

= [-0.75*0.00305] / [-0.5*0.00305 - 0.25]