•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

NexStar 127SLT Mak Arriving today

beginner cassegrain Celestron Maksutov eyepieces
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rmcelv1

rmcelv1

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 June 2019 - 08:54 AM

I'm a complete newb.  And while I will probably introduce myself over on the beginner board my question is specific to my new purchase.  I've done a lot of lurking and research in the past few years before making my purchase.  I chose the 127 SLT Mak for it's portability and price point. My questions, after research, are as follows:

1.  Dew shield:  I know it needs one, from my reading.  It looks like I can DIY one pretty easily with Reflectix.  I'm near Seattle WA and will primarily use it during the summer but may also get it out on those rare winter nights when it's not cloudy/raining.  Just want to make sure the Reflectix will be a good way to go.

2.  Power source:  Which TalentCell battery pack is recommended or do you have a different recommendation?  Do I need to buy a separate cord to connect power source to scope?

3.  Eye pieces:  Probably the question to garner the most debate.  If I were to buy one additional eye piece to start, what would it be?  I'm leaning towards a zoom eye piece.  I'm going to try to get set up with a local astro club to try other EP.  Or should I get a set like the basic Celestron kit.  

4.  Go crazy.  Anything else I'm missing/need to add to my wish list?

#2 Auburn80

Auburn80

Viking 1

Posted 20 June 2019 - 11:01 AM