•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Guide Scope Recommendations for C8

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 satellitespotter

satellitespotter

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: San Jose Area

Posted 24 June 2019 - 04:23 AM

Hi everyone,

I am somewhat new to astrophotography and after about 6 months I have decided to invest in a guide scope setup. Does anybody have any recommendations for a good scope and camera. I'll be using my Celestron c8. 

Thanks, Nick

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 24 June 2019 - 06:46 AM

Are you planning to image using C8 @ 2000mm with AVX mount ?

Personally I wouldn't recommend it.

With f/6.3 reducer little better.

OAG is common recommendation with classic C8 scope.

I admit I used basic 50mm (about 160mm fl) guide scope with f/6.3 reduced C8. Mount was HEQ5 Pro/Sirius.

And I still use such guide scope with C8 and CEM60-EC.

#3 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

Aurora

• Loc: Where the stars at night are big and bright...

Posted 24 June 2019 - 11:03 AM

I use an ED80 and ZWO ASI120mm with decent results, but I am using a .63 reducer with my setup.  The native f10 will be very difficult.  An OAG is typically recommended for SCTs to combat mirror shift.  If your SCT has a mirror lock, you may be able to get away with a guide scope, but you will likely be over the weight limit for the AVX.  My 8" SCT set up with everything on it is just over 30lbs and my mount is feeling it.  I use an Orion Atlas.  

#4 ELDavis

ELDavis

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Ft Myers, Fl and Keystone, co

Posted 24 June 2019 - 12:52 PM