•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Raising tripod center post essential?

mount tripod binoculars beginner
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jxk

jxk

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 June 2019 - 06:09 PM

I'm a novice astronomer beginning on binoculars. I'm buying a tripod, and through a connection I got a Benro KH26NL videography tripod for $100 (usually costs $250). It's a very versatile and stable tripod, but it doesn't have a center shaft that can raise and lower. How essential is a center shaft for binocular observing? The other option I have is a used Bogen 3021 with a 3030 head I could buy through craigslist.

Any advice is much appreciated!

#2 junomike

junomike

Hubble

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 25 June 2019 - 06:27 PM

IME it makes things far easier and less neck strain.

I wouldn't be without one.

• Erik D, Jon Isaacs, Vondragonnoggin and 2 others like this

#3 msl615

msl615

Viking 1

• Loc: Fairbanks, Alaska

Posted 25 June 2019 - 06:39 PM

Ditto.....I have always used the ability to raise the binos very high and adjust for my height, angle and easy viewing. Hard to see how I could do that without a center post.

Mike

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#4 ButterFly

ButterFly

Mariner 2

Posted 25 June 2019 - 07:32 PM

As you point up, the eyepieces go down.  Either you raise the binoculars or lower your eyes.  If you're not in a rush, I would wait for a geared center column to come up used.  The geared column lets you adjust on the fly for when you're just panning around or tracking something.

#5 jxk

jxk

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 June 2019 - 07:56 PM