•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Extra Counterweight for Star Adventurer?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Heavens_Above

Heavens_Above

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 June 2019 - 11:16 AM

Hello, I'm a newbie, first time forum poster here, about to go on my first outing in a few days. I'm doing a dry run of assembling my equipment at home, before going out.

I can't balance the Fine-Tuning Mounting Assembly plate (I'm using it in case I need to re-align the Adventurer while I'm out on site), Canon 6D, Manfrotto 496RC2, and Tamron 15-30mm lens (total weight 2.37 kg) on my Star Adventurer with Sky-Watcher's 1 kg counterweight and rod.

When used, should the counterweight be subtracted from the 5 kg payload capacity of the Star Adventurer to get the remaining maximum payload for the rest of the gear? Is it advisable to add more counterweight up to the 5 kg maximum to achieve balance?

Thank-you in advance for your replies (any advice or tips are welcome).

#2 Hesiod

Hesiod

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 26 June 2019 - 11:58 AM

Normally, counterweights are not taken into account when looking at a mount's payload; however, my own experience with very compact star trackers (Vixen Polarie) suggest to count them in for the best performances, especially if are using the star tracker own polar wedge.

My tracker uses a 20mm shaft, so I could employ most standard counterweights for light mounts, or gym weights (if get those with the right hole), but by doing so would only increase the amount of useless weight to carry: rather, I  normally try to attain the balance by placing the camera as low as possible, and the counterweight as far as possible; while this have its own shortcomings, I judge it a more convenient option for a compact travel rig.