•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Eyepeices for Orion XT8 Plus DOB

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ShaneinSpace

ShaneinSpace

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 June 2019 - 08:22 PM

I just recently purchased a Orion XT8 Plus Telescope after it came highly recommend on here from others. I am looking to invest in Eyepeices for this scope. I am new to Astronomy and it's a little overwhelming trying to choose the right one. Here's what I am looking to do...

*View the Planets. Distant and near
*I like details vs wide range of view
*But also don't want magnification being too high where I must constant readjust the scope.
*a happy median for details and view with crisp images

My XT8 Plus accepts both 2" and 1.25" eyepeices. Should I purchase a high quality 2" for wider feid of view and use the 1.25 for details. Or if I get a 5mm 2" eye peice that will be the best of both worlds? Thanks.

#2 Jond105

Jond105

Gemini

• Moderators
  • Loc: Detroit

Posted 26 June 2019 - 08:32 PM

A 2” 5mm won’t be the best for both worlds. And only a few makers have the double housing for both 1.25” and 2” eyepieces. You can easily get a 5mm in an 1.25” format still having up to 100 FOV. I think you’ll want a couple high power and low power eyepieces with a respectable FOV for the dob.
  • vdog likes this

#3 vdog

vdog

Viking 1

• Loc: California Central Valley, U.S.A.

Posted 26 June 2019 - 08:55 PM

So, if I understand you correctly, it sounds like you are asking for recommendations for a planetary eyepiece in the 5mm range?  A budget would be helpful; there are many choices ranging from dirt cheap to more than your scope cost.