•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mount stops tracking after PHD2 starts guiding

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Astro_Sholo

Astro_Sholo

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 June 2019 - 10:09 PM

Hello all,

As a disclaimer I want to say that I'm very new to guiding and go-to in general as I just upgraded from my tiny skyguider pro. 

I've recently purchased a CEM25P, WO 50mm guide scope & ASI120mm-s guide camera in an effort to begin guiding.  A few nights ago I had set everything up and was able to get nice round stars at 5 minute exposures guided using my WOZ61.  Tonight, after I set up and selected my target I began to run into a an issues in PHD2.  After framing my target and doing a test to make sure that M3 stayed in the frame, I began to guide.  I noticed that PHD2 acknowledged the existing tracking of the mount for about 1 second but then suddenly dropped off (graph) in both DEC and RA and I began to see both the guide star and target drift out of frame.  PHD2 then informed me to check my ST-4 cable for snags because it was unable to make DEC corrections. (I run computer to ASI120, ASI120 to Mount).  After unplugging all cables and resetting my computer/mount/cameras I was left with the same problem.  What I'm left to assume is that PHD2 is somehow overriding the mount to stop tracking and therefore can't get a good lock on the star?  I'm not really sure as to why the mount or PHD2 aren't recognizing each other.   

Any help is greatly appreciated!

#2 kisstek

kisstek

Ranger 4

Posted 26 June 2019 - 10:20 PM

Most of us hook our's up with computer to guide camera and computer to mount. That way the computer (PHD2) can send the pulse commands directly to the mount. It'll also come in handy later when you want the computer to do meridian flips and plate solving.

• elmiko likes this