•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Orion (A)MN55 Collimation Guidance.

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 gdjsky01

gdjsky01

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 06 July 2019 - 01:39 AM

Hi All.

I know this has been brought up, but give me a break as I am new to Mak-Newts

very good friend of mine loaned me an Orion 5.5 Mak-Newt (saya AM55 on the back)

I set it on a Celestron Advanced GT mount with quite a few Pounds/Kilos of weight and got it to balance on the mount.

The scope has an amazing Moonlite 2 inch focuser and was at one point returned to Mike Palmeri for service/tuning.

However...

I let it sit out in 40* weather for a good 30 to 45 minutes.

I then did a star test and the image was horrible. It almost resembled pinched optics. Almost.

I put a laser in and the laser missed the center of the mirror (marked by a paper circle) by a good inch or more.

I did not have a hex wrench small enough to move the collimation screws. So I packed it in for the night and used my UC22. ;)

So... I did some research here on CN. But it dealt a lot with offset and such. I am gonna assume, and I am not gonna futz with, that the offset is fine. 

So please, I have no instructions (but I have the MN180 instructions - Chinese version). Should I proceed as a newt?

I have a super nice LaserMax as well as single beam lasers and barlowed lasers. And sight tubes etc... 

There seems to be precious little on mak newts. But my understanding is these AM55s were the bomb optically. And that is why I borrowed it.

Thank you for your advice!!!

#2 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Apollo

• Loc: MD

Posted 06 July 2019 - 08:24 AM

So please, I have no instructions (but I have the MN180 instructions - Chinese version). Should I proceed as a newt?