•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron 8-24mm Zoom vs. Baader MK IV Zoom

• Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 BigKahuna

BigKahuna

Sputnik

• topic starter

Posted 09 July 2019 - 09:49 AM

I'm still a beginner sky watcher compared to the majority of you with a year behind a scope so this is my short comparison. 

I have mostly Celestron eyepieces. X-cel and the three 1.5" Luminos eyepieces. I like the idea of using a zoom. I purchased my 1st Celestron Zoom for my 8SE in November and my second one in April for my ETX-90. The Celestron have been a good eyepiece for me even though it has a narrow FOV. Clear views, semi - parfocus. I've been satisfied.

Yesterday I received a new Baader MK IV Zoom. During the summer I only have access to my ETX-90 but it gives good planetary views in the Bortle 6 skies here at the NJ Shore. Last night was a great chance to do a quick comparison of the zooms looking at Jupiter and our Moon.

First up was the Celestron Zoom. I observed nice clear views of Jupiter and it's 4 moons. Nice banding on Jupiter. Slight adjustment on the zoom when fully zoomed in. Then I put on the Baader Zoom.... The 1st thing you notice is the FOV. It is noticeably wider than the Celestron. The 2nd thing you notice is has more contrast than the Celestron. Zooming in is pretty much the same. I still has to adjust the focus slightly when zoomed fully in. The view though was definitely sharper  I swapped the eyepieces a few times and the Baader was the winner.