•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Total solar eclipse on film

astrophotography 3d printing
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mr_rax

mr_rax

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 July 2019 - 08:59 PM

I'll start by thanking all the people posting in this forum; the information was handy to get started in film astrophotography. Although I've been using film for more than 30 years, looking up with the camera is totally different.

This past week we had a total solar eclipse, and I wanted to get it on film. I wanted a large negative, but with a close view of the event, so I ventured into connecting a telescope to a medium format camera. Playing around for some time, I figured that a Celestron C90 had an image circle large enough to cover the whole 6x7 area of a Mamiya RB67. I used a 3D printer (and much testing) to build a joint that connected the telescope and the camera (with fully extended bellows and a macro ring attached) but still allowing me to use the focus knob of the C90.
Both things were attached to an aluminum bar, which was very sturdy, using bolts to secure and do fine alignment of both elements. The 6 Kg. contraption was then locked on a Celestron AVX mount.

Here is the first image I got of the total solar eclipse, using Kodak Portra 400:
https://www.instagra.../p/BzteAj5llnv/

I also used Kodak Tri-X, and E100VS slide, which I still need to scan and, hopefully, I’ll post soon.

• zjc26138, Achernar, Joe F Gafford and 6 others like this

#2 TxStars

TxStars

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Lost In Space

Posted 11 July 2019 - 12:23 AM

Congratz on capturing a solar eclipse on film..

It's not always as easy as it sounds...

• mr_rax likes this

#3 Nico_or

Nico_or

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Santiago, Chile

Posted 11 July 2019 - 07:32 PM