•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

My Attempt at the Veil Nebula

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 durak

durak

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Utah

Posted 11 July 2019 - 07:56 PM

Hey all- I took this shot from my bortle 4.5 backyard last night. I fought with very poor guiding all night (which deserves its own thread) so only ended up with 90 minutes of integration time. I am still quite new at this whole AP thing (~2 months) so any and all criticism is welcome. I feel like I may have stretched the data a bit too hard but I felt it was necessary in order to show some color. Check out the Astrobin link for full-size image.

Equipment:

ES80mm FCD100

EQ6-R Pro

Orion 0.80x reducer

Nikon D5300 unmodded

asi120mm mini

Sharpcap for polar alignment

PHD2 

Backyard Nikon

Astrotortilla

Astro Pixel Processor

Lightroom

Thanks for looking.

https://www.astrobin...4843/0/?nc=user

Attached Thumbnails

• Veil 16x9 19.7.10 small.jpg

• zjc26138, elmiko, Jerome Ni and 6 others like this

#2 hherbson

hherbson

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Cincinnati, OH

Posted 11 July 2019 - 08:07 PM

Hi Durak,

I think it looks great.  Nice wispy details, and I don't notice any noise.  I just posted the Crescent pic in the other thread, and I pushed it WAY too far, but just for fun wanted to make the colors pop.   I'm about 2 months into this as well.  The fact that I keep switching software isn't helping me any either....

I just got a UHC filter, and I'm looking forward to trying it out once the sky cooperates.

Regards,

Kevin

Edited by hherbson, 11 July 2019 - 08:10 PM.

• durak likes this

#3 durak

durak

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 July 2019 - 08:14 PM

Hi Durak,