•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

The Paramount, Astrophysics, 10 Micron mount showdown; please advise.

• Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#1 SimonIRE

SimonIRE

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: South East England

Posted 12 July 2019 - 08:49 AM

Dear Experts, 

This thread has been done before in different forms and guises but I can't seem to get my thinking straight and my lack of AP experience means its difficult to make fine judgements myself. I am at the mercy of the mount oracles. 

My question:

Specifically given the choice of 1) Paramount MX+, 2) 10 Micron 2000 HPS and 3) AP 1100 goto mount for a permanent pier, what would you pick?

Here are the details:

1. I am new to AP but I have a new home observatory and prefer to invest now rather than climb the ladder (experience has told me this is the most economical route ultimately)

2. I use an Edge 11' for visual and have a small refractor (73mm WO) but will hope to upgrade this soon for AP (perhaps to a 120mm)

3. I would like the option to remote it at least some of the time (from my house - only 100mm away) i.e. run the mount while I sleep. 

4. Ease of set up and "just works" are very important to me (I am a computer scientist, but I don't want to be debugging problems all the time - enough of that at work)

5.  I do want to future proof on capacity; 50kg is probably a bit too much but one step down to the 10 Micron 1000 or MyT and you are in 25kg capacity which leaves you nowhere to grow really - particularly if one day you want a 14' SCT or dual mount with a refractor. 

6. As ridiculous as it sounds beauty and craftsmanship actually do mean something to me in my decision making

The problems: