•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQ6-R weight planning

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 GunArm

GunArm

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: North Texas

Posted 16 July 2019 - 10:48 AM

I'm a beginner but since this technically involves astrophotography I've posted here.

I’m looking to run an ES FCD100 127mm on an EQ6-R (44lb capacity).  The carbon fiber OTA is 14lbs and the aluminum is 18lbs.  The difference in price is $420.  I’m not sure what kind of auto guider setup I will need yet, or what kind of optical attachments I’ll end up needing for an imaging chain (recommendations welcome), but most importantly I'm not sure what this additional gear will weigh.

Can someone estimate how much additional weight I should expect to load on?  And given that, is the 4lb difference between CF and aluminum FCD100 127mm worth the $105 per lb to keep the weight down on the EQ6-R? 

Just guessing but lets say the rest of the components weigh 10lbs.  On a 44lb mount, would you think it worth an extra $420 to take the weight down from 28 to 24lbs?

#2 f300v10

f300v10

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Marietta, GA

Posted 16 July 2019 - 11:13 AM

I use one of two scopes that with guide/imaging cameras weight over 32lbs (MN190 or C11 depending on the target) with my EQ6-R with very good results.  So personally I would use the $420 elsewhere.  I also think you are likely over estimating what the guiding/imaging gear will weigh.

#3 jerahian

jerahian

Messenger

• Loc: Maine

Posted 16 July 2019 - 11:26 AM