•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Meade Lx90 Handcontroller problem

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 redballoon

redballoon

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 July 2019 - 12:32 AM

Hello all, I have question with the scope's 497 handcontroller. I have been using the telescope for almost 9 years and suddenly this year the controller went crazy. sometimes it shows spanish language, sometimes a weird glyph words and sometimes there's nothing at all on the screen. I went to a dealer after that and bought a new same type of controller. It worked okay for a day or two, but after that it went crazy again. Brought it back to the dealer to check it again, but it worked fine with his meade telescope. Somehow when we connect it back to our scope the controller went crazy. Any idea how to solve this?

#2 EdIII

EdIII

Vostok 1

• Loc: Florence, SC

Posted 17 July 2019 - 08:23 AM

That’s a new one for me. Have you tried another cable?  If so, look at the cable contacts in your handbox port. Is your scope getting a reliable 12 volts?

#3 redballoon

redballoon

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 July 2019 - 11:42 AM

That’s a new one for me. Have you tried another cable?  If so, look at the cable contacts in your handbox port. Is your scope getting a reliable 12 volts?

Haven't tried another cable. Already tried cleaning the cable contacts and still the same. Yes, it is. and I sometimes switch to the batteries as well. Still got the same result.

Do you think it has something to do with the cable?

#4 carolinaskies

carolinaskies

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Greenville SC

Posted 17 July 2019 - 01:42 PM

The weirdness is actually more likely corrupted firmware.  I bought an LX200 GPS that was doing the same thing and wound up reinstalling the firmware and everything cleared up.   

#5 EdIII

EdIII

Vostok 1