•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Equipment decisions - Canon APS-C

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Stille

Stille

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 July 2019 - 09:16 AM

Hello!

I'm a complete newb at astrophotography (and photography in general) - I've been mostly playing at widefields with a Canon 350D and a Tamron 16-300 f3.5-6.3 lens until now, enough to figure out that I love this (https://i.imgur.com/BkX7fph.jpg is probably my best one yet). I'm trying to figure out what would be a good direction for equipment upgrade, especially camera-wise.

I only get regular access to dark skies when trekking in the mountains, though, so that brings in a couple limitations:

• First and most important one is weight. I can maybe find room for another lens in my backpack (the Tamron sees heavy use during the day) and one of those clockwork tracking mounts, and the camera usually stays on my hip where every extra gram hurts (I'm stubborn rather than strong :) ), so full-frame DSLRs or the heavier sort of APS-C such as the 70D are out
  • The second one is battery power - I'm currently carrying extra batteries for the 350D but I'd like to be able to stop doing that
  • Third... most of my fellow hikers are also on Canon DSLRs, so I'd prefer staying on a Canon DSLR as well, since it means we can share lenses.