•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Broadband vs Duo-band Luminance Filters

astrophotography accessories equipment imaging
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 wcoastsands

wcoastsands

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

Posted 18 July 2019 - 01:36 PM

Hi folks!

Not sure if this is the best place to post this, but might be a good place to start since I'm a beginner when it comes to imaging filters.

I've seen a lot of discussions about and reviews of light pollution filters, or filters you can use to cut down on or eliminate sky-glow caused by city lights and the moon. Two products that I've heard about most and am most interested in at the moment are the Optolong broadband L-Pro and duo-band L-eNhance luminance filters. One would think that the L-Pro is preferable when a broader range of color values is desired, but L-eNhance may yield better signal if L-Pro doesn't cut it.

So I'm wondering, in which situations would you opt for a duo-band filter like the L-eNhance filter, verses a broadband filter like the L-Pro filter?

I don't fully understand their intended use cases yet, and at $200+ ea., it's too expensive to just buy both and find out for myself. I image from my backyard under Bortle class 4 skies. The camera I currently use is a Fujifilm X-T100. My imaging scope is an Explore Scientific N208CF 8" Newtonian. I also use the Explore Scientific HR Coma Corrector, which has the option of threading on 2" filters.

EasternCelestialEquater_anim_32_320x213.gif

Thanks in advance,

Nikko

Edited by wcoastsands, 18 July 2019 - 01:44 PM.

• elmiko likes this

#2 Gipht

Gipht

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Prescott Valley, AZ.

Posted 18 July 2019 - 02:14 PM