•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQDirect Bluetooth build, using logic level converter?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Russky

Russky

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 July 2019 - 04:41 PM

Hi all,

I’m just getting into astrophotography and have purchased my first Goto mount, the HEQ5. I’m wanting to hook everything up with a Raspberry Pi, using Astroberry for a start. I’ve ordered all the part off eBay to build both an EQDirect USB cable, and an EQDirect Bluetooth connector, based on the schematics on the EQMod website.

After ordering all the components for the Bluetooth build, I realised that in MOSFETs & Resistors are basically logic level shifting, and there are single board logic level shifters that can do that for you these days.

Is there any reason you can’t replace those components with the single boards? I know the boards require power on both the 3.3v and 5v side, which is combined doing it the schematic way,  but it would save a bunch of breadboard wiring and soldering going that way instead of building the pcb myself?

Any thoughts on the build process from those who have done it themselves would also be appreciated.

Thanks. Russell.

#2 steveastrouk

steveastrouk

Apollo

• Vendors
  • Loc: State College, Pa.

Posted 19 July 2019 - 08:02 PM

I built a BT to mount connection with one cheap regulator, a 9 pin D connector and a BT module. I think there were around 6 wires ? Or am I missing something?

#3 Russky

Russky

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 July 2019 - 08:34 PM

I built a BT to mount connection with one cheap regulator, a 9 pin D connector and a BT module. I think there were around 6 wires ? Or am I missing something?