•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Combining OSC images with Mono images

astrophotography imaging
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Brent Jaffa

Brent Jaffa

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Utah

Posted 20 July 2019 - 11:55 AM

I have been imaging with a ASI1600  OSC cmos camera. I would like to branch out to a ASI1600 monochrome.

I know that some mono photographers will take Luminous x1 bin and RGB images with 2x2 bin (each). 

I was wondering if a OSC camera (that has a bayer matrix) and shoots color with one set of images could be combined

and processed with the LUM images of the mono (say using pixinsight).?

Would they be comparable if the image was shot with Lum (binx1) and RGB (x2 bin) images?

There by require fewer total shots as the mon was combined with the OSC images.

I am new at imaging so this might be a dumb question. Any advice is appreciated.

Brent

• elmiko likes this

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

Hubble

Posted 20 July 2019 - 01:19 PM

I have been imaging with a ASI1600  OSC cmos camera. I would like to branch out to a ASI1600 monochrome.

I know that some mono photographers will take Luminous x1 bin and RGB images with 2x2 bin (each). 

I was wondering if a OSC camera (that has a bayer matrix) and shoots color with one set of images could be combined

Would they be comparable if the image was shot with Lum (binx1) and RGB (x2 bin) images?

I am new at imaging so this might be a dumb question. Any advice is appreciated.

Brent

Advice. 

Surprisingly, collecting RGB with a mono camera and full size interference filters, is more efficient than using a OSC with a dyed glass Bayer matrix filter over the individual pixels.  Given equal total imaging times, mono + filters will have a better signal to noise ratio.