•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How to mount finder shoe

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 cookjaiii

cookjaiii

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Southeast PA

Posted 20 July 2019 - 05:09 PM

Hi All,

I have two telescopes, a refractor and an SCT (both purchased second hand).  Both mount to my tripod through a Vixen style dovetail attached directly to the OTA. Neither OTA has any bolt holes for mounting finder shoes.  What do people do in this situation?

I have a Telrad, but with my light pollution, I need a magnifying finder.

Telescope rings?  I'm trying to keep the weight down.

Double-sided tape? I'd worry that it would fall off with an 8x50 finder.

Drill and tap holes? I'm not very experienced and fear damaging the scopes.

The rings seem to be the best option for me, but I don't know if there are any other options. Thanks for any suggestions.

#2 OldManSky

OldManSky

Vanguard

• Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 20 July 2019 - 07:29 PM

Do you have any pictures of the two scopes?

I suspect both of them *do* have finder scope attachment screws, they're just not obvious...

Pictures would help us determine that for sure :)

• cookjaiii likes this

#3 cookjaiii

cookjaiii

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 20 July 2019 - 11:14 PM

I'll follow up with pictures.  Thanks.

#4 clearwaterdave

clearwaterdave

Skylab

• ****-
  • Loc: Western Maine

Posted 22 July 2019 - 06:51 AM

Hello.,Drilling is no big deal.,perhaps you have a friend who is handy and has tools whom you could ask to help.,good luck.,

#5 Tapio

Tapio

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 22 July 2019 - 07:09 AM

I agree with Paul. Both should have holes for finder shoe - at least SCT does.

• OldManSky likes this

#6 S.Boerner

S.Boerner

Apollo

• Loc: Chesterfield, MO

Posted 22 July 2019 - 11:11 AM