•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Phone app to locate stars

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 COLTONK

COLTONK

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 July 2019 - 05:36 PM

I'm hoping someone can help... I'm fairly new with my celestron 8SE telescope and having some issues doing the two star alignment.. I use skeye and stellarium apps on my phone to locate the stars name while doing the alignment and it always fails... I think it's because the app is giving the wrong name Even though I've checked the settings to make sure location is correct... I see one inherent issue is trying to point the phones camera at a section of sky with several stars close to each other can lead to the wrong star... I'm hoping there is an app out there that shows a view of the sky as seen through the phone camera and then give the name of the star that has cross hairs or some other means to pinpoint the star your phone camera shows.. Having the phone screen show a somewhat transparent view of a star map that you could overlay on the phone display with the actual sky would also be helpful..

Does anyone know of any phone app similar to what I am describing.

Colton

#2 wrnchhead

wrnchhead

Apollo

• Loc: NE Kansas

Posted 22 July 2019 - 06:33 PM

I recommend two because both of them fufill different needs I think what you need is SkyView. I also have to recommend Stellarium because the one thing that Skyview doesn’t do is allow you to scroll around the sky it only shows where you have your camera pointed.

It is pretty straightforward to use

Edited by wrnchhead, 22 July 2019 - 06:33 PM.

• Orion68 likes this

#3 trurl

trurl

Hubble

• Loc: North Carolina

Posted 22 July 2019 - 06:40 PM