•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astrophotography with Canon Rebel Xt DSLR

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TxSoul5

TxSoul5

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 July 2019 - 09:02 AM

I am new to astrophotography and would like to know what I need to get good quality images. I have a pair of Oberwerk 15x70LW bino's that I have been spotting with but I want to progress into imaging. Seen a few scenarios where people are using telescopes with a DSLR camera like mine. So my question is, what equipment would I need to get started. Thanks all!!

#2 Gipht

Gipht

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Prescott Valley, AZ.

Posted 23 July 2019 - 09:23 AM

Welcome TxSoul5!  The answer is  a good equatorial mount, a telescope with a short focal length,  and a camera with a t-adapter.  What you might want to do is look at the latest pictures posted in the Newbie Corner part of  this site:  https://www.cloudyni...25#entry8117612 and see the results and the equipment that was used.  Some very good starting  images there.

• bobzeq25, Dynan and md11spotter98 like this

#3 Stargezzer

Stargezzer

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Catalina Mountains AZ

Posted 23 July 2019 - 10:24 AM

+1 for Gipht's advice!

#4 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 23 July 2019 - 04:28 PM

I am new to astrophotography and would like to know what I need to get good quality images. I have a pair of Oberwerk 15x70LW bino's that I have been spotting with but I want to progress into imaging. Seen a few scenarios where people are using telescopes with a DSLR camera like mine. So my question is, what equipment would I need to get started. Thanks all!!