Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PrimaLuceLab Eagle Review

  • Please log in to reply
109 replies to this topic

#26 Shadowoo2

Shadowoo2

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 19 May 2014

Posted 22 August 2019 - 12:10 PM

Dew is an issue. Living in Fl. I have had the Eagle serviced twice, once under warranty and once out of warranty that cost $400.00, for Dew related issues. When it was opened I was told the boards had water residue on it. It is a fantastic unit but if you live in an area with a  lot of dew I recommend using screws or tape to over all the open bolt holes.

 

This is a great review but I have one question; what about dew and moisture?

 

If you leave this out all night with your kit and in the morning your scope and mount (and therefore the Eagle) is covered in dew, how does it handle that?

 

Oh, and just to add....to take it one step further, how do you think this would fare in a remote observatory over many many months (to a couple of years) i.e. in an environment that suffers from swings in temperature. I am not talking about anything extreme, but what one would see in a wooden RoR observatory?

 

Thanks for reading. 

 

Simon


  • mrlovt and IR656nm like this

#27 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 22 August 2019 - 05:23 PM

Dew is an issue. Living in Fl. I have had the Eagle serviced twice, once under warranty and once out of warranty that cost $400.00, for Dew related issues. When it was opened I was told the boards had water residue on it. It is a fantastic unit but if you live in an area with a  lot of dew I recommend using screws or tape to over all the open bolt holes.

thats interesting as I never had an issue and we live in a pretty damp place!

 

how is your Eagle mounted ??

 

I have mine on top of the tube with the guidescope on rings mounted to the top 

 

I don't turn off Eagle at the end of an imaging run till I am due to come in and usually its not wet or icy when when the rest of the scope is dripping 

 

keen to understand how you have it mounted and how its used as I'd like to avoid the dew issue!

 

maybe they should offer some rubber bungs for unused holes on the top when mounted like that 


  • GoJuice likes this

#28 Delta608

Delta608

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,644
  • Joined: 19 May 2008
  • Loc: Tampa Bay Florida

Posted 24 August 2019 - 07:30 AM

Received it yesterday...To my surprise in the computer box was a power cable (Cigar Type)...SO I'm able to return the one I bought for fifty bucks !!


  • chriscorkill, gfstallin and ZL4PLM like this

#29 Miker K

Miker K

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2016
  • Loc: Maryland suburbs of District of Columbia

Posted 24 August 2019 - 07:20 PM

1. You don't need to buy ready made cables - if you can handle a soldering iron the connectors are available on mouser and you can make up what you want 

 

2. You don't need a W10 PC to remote to it - thats the beauty - it can be a Mac, or Windows 7 or an Ipad or android tablet ... whatever you can get a remote desktop client for.

 

3. Eagle will run SGP so you can automate a full nights imaging, control the whole deal from your arm chair or check in on it during the middle of the night from bed 

 

Its a lot more than just a computer and cable manager.

 

I have found it speeds up my setup time - I can be running in 10 mins now now 40 and break down in faster - unhook power, undo the dovetail and lift off the whole scope/eagle setup 

 

When you own one you will wonder how you didnt get one earlier - I now have 2 and love them to bits 

Hi ZL4PLM

In regard to #1 above "You don't need to buy ready made cables - if you can handle a soldering iron the connectors are available on mouser and you can make up what you want," can you provide a part description that can be used to find the correct connectors on Mouser.com? I've tried to search for them using variations of "round 12 volt DC power connectors" but have not been able to locate them in the myriad search returns. I have an Eagle 2 and wanted to build my own cables for while now.

Thanks in advance.

Miker K



#30 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 24 August 2019 - 09:02 PM

Received it yesterday...To my surprise in the computer box was a power cable (Cigar Type)...SO I'm able to return the one I bought for fifty bucks !!

ohh thats new 

 

I rechecked the Eagle 3 box I recently bought  and tucked in a corner was .. a power DC cord!

 

Nice!!!



#31 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 24 August 2019 - 09:07 PM

Hi ZL4PLM

In regard to #1 above "You don't need to buy ready made cables - if you can handle a soldering iron the connectors are available on mouser and you can make up what you want," can you provide a part description that can be used to find the correct connectors on Mouser.com? I've tried to search for them using variations of "round 12 volt DC power connectors" but have not been able to locate them in the myriad search returns. I have an Eagle 2 and wanted to build my own cables for while now.

Thanks in advance.

Miker K

12v in - TE T4110001031-000      m12 straight female 3p pg7

 

12v out - TE  4111001031-000 m12 male straight 3p pg7 



#32 Delta608

Delta608

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,644
  • Joined: 19 May 2008
  • Loc: Tampa Bay Florida

Posted 24 August 2019 - 09:42 PM

Hi ZL4PLM

In regard to #1 above "You don't need to buy ready made cables - if you can handle a soldering iron the connectors are available on mouser and you can make up what you want," can you provide a part description that can be used to find the correct connectors on Mouser.com? I've tried to search for them using variations of "round 12 volt DC power connectors" but have not been able to locate them in the myriad search returns. I have an Eagle 2 and wanted to build my own cables for while now.

Thanks in advance.

Miker K

 

  Highpoint Scientific sells the connectors, 15.00....Search for Prima Luce and all their stuff comes up including the connectors...



#33 AndyK997

AndyK997

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2019

Posted 31 August 2019 - 11:30 PM

How much do the current models cost (my apologies if I missed this in the review)?  The one on sale at High Point is a DSLR control unit.  Does the Eagle also work on CCD Cameras?  



#34 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 01 September 2019 - 05:36 AM

thats the Eagle Core not the full blown Eagle 

 

i think the base model is around 950$ just now and goes up depending on CPU/RAM/SSD sizes



#35 TikiTom

TikiTom

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 707
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2017
  • Loc: South Central WI

Posted 05 September 2019 - 03:55 PM

How much do the current models cost (my apologies if I missed this in the review)?  The one on sale at High Point is a DSLR control unit.  Does the Eagle also work on CCD Cameras?  

The basic "Eagle Core" is only for DSLRs. It will not work on CCD cams and is controlled only by a mobile device. Priced under $500. 

About 1/2 the size of the 'full' Eagles, it has just 3 USBs, 3 12V outputs and 1 wireless antenna....



#36 metalholes

metalholes

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2019

Posted 15 September 2019 - 06:19 PM

Which version of the Eagle3 would you recommend?  Choices are:  Eagle 3, Eagle3 Q, Eagle S, and Eagle3 Pro.  Is the basic version adequate or do you really need the Pro version or middle range versions?  The only software I'd have running all night would be Sequence Generator Pro, PhD2, Cartes du Ciel/Stellarium, and EQMod.  I don't need a lot of storage, since my images total less than 10GB in one night and I'd offload them the next day to free up space.  Just wondering what the better processors would help with.  Thanks.



#37 Delta608

Delta608

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,644
  • Joined: 19 May 2008
  • Loc: Tampa Bay Florida

Posted 18 September 2019 - 11:49 AM

For the Eagle 3 users in the field..What voltage stabilizer are you using, if any...??

 

 

Thanks



#38 Ron in Michigan

Ron in Michigan

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 385
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2008
  • Loc: W. Michigan

Posted 09 October 2019 - 10:34 AM

I have a loaded nuc, powerpole strip and usb hub.  I am VERY interested in this all in one "clean" setup  BUT.  (cons?)

I see it has a small SSD.   And major difference in price for a later one and 4 8 or 16 gb

Here is a major con.  If I get a 4gb - what if I want 8gb later?  I have to send this thing back to Italy to get an upgrade?

 

Same for SSD?  what if ram or SSD goes bad?  I can't just swap another?  I have to send it to Italy for service? 

A major pro for me is that with the nuc I can open it out and swap M2 drives or SSD's (I do and have).  

Upgradability and service ability like my Intel Nuc is a MAJOR PRO for me.   This might be something they might consider in a future model.  If I lived in Italy then fine, but in the U.S. it's not at all attractive to me to ship the thing to Europe. 



#39 Delta608

Delta608

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,644
  • Joined: 19 May 2008
  • Loc: Tampa Bay Florida

Posted 09 October 2019 - 05:55 PM

You should be asking PrimaLuceLab ....They are also in California....https://primalucelabusa.com/



#40 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 10 October 2019 - 04:34 PM

Ram you can sure it's basically a nuc anyway 

 

Ssd I'm not sure as there's some setup n config but it's a windows pc so primaluce would help

 

What I like is I dont have to worry as it doesn't upgrade as its embedded version. 

 

Adding another ssd or USB 3 drive is def easy



#41 sayitfast

sayitfast

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Marana Arizona

Posted 23 October 2019 - 07:28 AM

I have two and I love them... yes they are pricey but they look great and you can add equipement to them.  Screw it on top or below.  Can't do that with a plastic box. 

 

Also... I did crack one open and added more ram... popped right in. 


  • Benrosen and ZL4PLM like this

#42 kel123

kel123

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2,154
  • Joined: 11 May 2019

Posted 30 October 2019 - 10:17 PM

I hate that I am not able to platesolve with the Eagle Core. Polar alignment utility should have also been included. But plate solving should have been standard.

 

If you can Plate Solve with Stellarmate and ASIair at almost have the price, why not Eagle Core. Such a shame. 



#43 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 31 October 2019 - 03:03 PM

I hate that I am not able to platesolve with the Eagle Core. Polar alignment utility should have also been included. But plate solving should have been standard.

 

If you can Plate Solve with Stellarmate and ASIair at almost have the price, why not Eagle Core. Such a shame. 

Core was promised to be so much but delivered so little - a disappointing product and lacks development - better buying an ASIAIR these days 



#44 Delta608

Delta608

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,644
  • Joined: 19 May 2008
  • Loc: Tampa Bay Florida

Posted 31 October 2019 - 03:16 PM

Core was promised to be so much but delivered so little - a disappointing product and lacks development - better buying an ASIAIR these days 

 

  I returned my Eagle 3 and all its its accompanying proprietary  accessories last week...Was not happy, with the wifi dropping and occasional (once) rebooting...



#45 kel123

kel123

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2,154
  • Joined: 11 May 2019

Posted 01 November 2019 - 09:01 AM

  I returned my Eagle 3 and all its its accompanying proprietary  accessories last week...Was not happy, with the wifi dropping and occasional (once) rebooting...

The only good side the Eagle products have is cable management. They are actually overpriced cable management devices. Stellarmate and Asiair can do much more, except cable management and the price difference is breathtaking . 



#46 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor Affiliate - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendor Affiliate
  • Posts: 1,784
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 01 November 2019 - 01:17 PM

The only good side the Eagle products have is cable management. They are actually overpriced cable management devices. Stellarmate and Asiair can do much more, except cable management and the price difference is breathtakin

thats somewhat incorrect!!

 

ASIAIR is very much a box aimed at different level both in price and capability - your stuck with a proprietary OS and use of a tablet to drive it and its not in any way as feature rich as say SGP

 

Stellarmate is stronger on the device app but weaker on the tablet side and again stuck with one system. I tried it and disliked it immensely 

 

Neither manage connectivity and indeed are limited in connectivity to them and you cannot integrate either in a scope system - they mount very differently 

 

eagle is a PC - its can run anything you want - from sharpcap to SGP and anything else combined with controllable USB hubs, power control and monitoring, dew control, mounting and integration.

 

When I remote in to my eagles I get a windows desktop - and the same SGP interface 

 

Stellarmate and ASIAIR are nothing like an Eagle or terms of monitoring a remote setup for example. If I want to try NINA for example I can just install it and use it - neither stellarmate or air can do that.

 

ASIAIR and Stellarmate fit a niche - and a price.

 

owning all 3 I can assure you that eagle is a much more capable system but yes a much bigger price and buy into a system such as rings.

 

I cured all my network issues by installing a mesh network at home around the house and obs 

 

Def wont be handing mine back!


  • Bigwalker likes this

#47 richorn

richorn

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 594
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2019
  • Loc: Rancho Palos Verdes. CA

Posted 10 November 2019 - 11:56 PM

thats somewhat incorrect!!

 

ASIAIR is very much a box aimed at different level both in price and capability - your stuck with a proprietary OS and use of a tablet to drive it and its not in any way as feature rich as say SGP

 

Stellarmate is stronger on the device app but weaker on the tablet side and again stuck with one system. I tried it and disliked it immensely 

 

Neither manage connectivity and indeed are limited in connectivity to them and you cannot integrate either in a scope system - they mount very differently 

 

eagle is a PC - its can run anything you want - from sharpcap to SGP and anything else combined with controllable USB hubs, power control and monitoring, dew control, mounting and integration.

 

When I remote in to my eagles I get a windows desktop - and the same SGP interface 

 

Stellarmate and ASIAIR are nothing like an Eagle or terms of monitoring a remote setup for example. If I want to try NINA for example I can just install it and use it - neither stellarmate or air can do that.

 

ASIAIR and Stellarmate fit a niche - and a price.

 

owning all 3 I can assure you that eagle is a much more capable system but yes a much bigger price and buy into a system such as rings.

 

I cured all my network issues by installing a mesh network at home around the house and obs 

 

Def wont be handing mine back!

 

I also have a StellarMate and an Eagle 3S.

 

I also now have a bucket full of excess cables, power supplies, etc. that I don't need any longer.  The Stellarmate is in that bucket.

 

I am a MAC user, and tried like crazy to get things working from the Mac. The Eagle was my solution, and boy was it a solution.

 

Huge upgrade to my setup.


  • chriscorkill likes this

#48 kel123

kel123

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2,154
  • Joined: 11 May 2019

Posted 20 November 2019 - 06:10 PM

thats somewhat incorrect!!

 

ASIAIR is very much a box aimed at different level both in price and capability - your stuck with a proprietary OS and use of a tablet to drive it and its not in any way as feature rich as say SGP

 

Stellarmate is stronger on the device app but weaker on the tablet side and again stuck with one system. I tried it and disliked it immensely 

 

Neither manage connectivity and indeed are limited in connectivity to them and you cannot integrate either in a scope system - they mount very differently 

 

eagle is a PC - its can run anything you want - from sharpcap to SGP and anything else combined with controllable USB hubs, power control and monitoring, dew control, mounting and integration.

 

When I remote in to my eagles I get a windows desktop - and the same SGP interface 

 

Stellarmate and ASIAIR are nothing like an Eagle or terms of monitoring a remote setup for example. If I want to try NINA for example I can just install it and use it - neither stellarmate or air can do that.

 

ASIAIR and Stellarmate fit a niche - and a price.

 

owning all 3 I can assure you that eagle is a much more capable system but yes a much bigger price and buy into a system such as rings.

 

I cured all my network issues by installing a mesh network at home around the house and obs 

 

Def wont be handing mine back!

I think I should have particularly mentioned Eagle Core. It retails for $325 and all it does is acquisition from a DSLR camera and guiding, apart from basic cable management capabilities. No plate solving, no polar alignment, no CMOS or CCD camera capabilities, no autofocus capabilities, you are also stuck with proprietary software but it is almost twice as expensive as these other guys. 



#49 AlexTardif

AlexTardif

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2017
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 04 December 2019 - 06:28 PM

Hi all -

I have a PrimaLuce Eagle2 computer that I've had since last year.  Just ran into my first major issue with this PC... the Windows 10 Enterprise 2015 LTSB edition has fallen behind times: there is no way to update to the latest .Net platform on it.  As a result, I can't install my new NexDome controller software on this PC, which requires a minimum of .Net 4.7 framework.  PrimaLuce has been very slow with responses/support to my enquiries and just told me that the only solution is to send the PC back to them to wipe the hard drive and install the new Windows 10 Enterprise.  They haven't quoted me the turnaround time or price or any other details yet (it's not free and I'd have to ship the PC to Italy, which seems like a total hassle with long turn-around times) so I'm exploring options to do the upgrade myself.

What I could use some help with is this:

  • Those of you with Eagle/Eagle2/Eagle3/Pro - could you please tell me which exact edition of Windows Enterprise 10 is installed on your PCs?
  • Looks like the latest build available from Microsoft is Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 2019 (build 1809)... do any of you have this installed on your Eagle?

Thank you!



#50 SimonIRE

SimonIRE

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,644
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2018
  • Loc: South East England

Posted 25 December 2019 - 06:37 AM

Can someone please tell me why I should buy an Eagle 3 over say, an industrial NUC with all the trimmings. I’m in a complete rut and can’t make a decision. The price difference is smaller than you’d think when you upgrade the NUC and add in accessories.

I have the Pl plus system so it would fit perfectly. But forgetting that, what’s the advantage? Many rave about it while others have had dropouts and rebooting problems.

I’m open minded on this one. Someone sell me one way or another.....please.

Happy Holidays!

Simon

Edited by SimonIRE, 25 December 2019 - 06:37 AM.



CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics