•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mid 80's C8 as bad as Dynamax 8 ?

catadioptric classic optics SCT
  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#1 rolo

rolo

Cosmos

• topic starter
  • Loc: GA

Posted 07 August 2019 - 09:09 AM

A few moths ago I borrowed a friend's C8 that he suspected may have optical issues. He complained that the focus was soft and contrast was lacking specially at higher magnifications. It just didn't perform as good other C8's he owns so I agreed to test it for him. I'm no optical expert but it looks pretty bad. Almost as bad as the Dynamax 8's and B&L 8000 that I've tested. I estimate this C8 to be from the mid 80's. Star testing mainly showed rough optics with unevenly illuminated diffraction rings that looked like bad zones. Maybe there be some truth to the Halley's era C8's rumors?

Here's a pic of a DX8 vs this C8.

Attached Thumbnails

• in-out-760048.jpg
  • image3.jpeg

• tim53, wfj, Boom and 4 others like this

#2 Chuck Hards

Chuck Hards

You don't know Swift from Astrola

• Administrators

Posted 07 August 2019 - 09:21 AM

Looks like a 90mm Chinese Mak!  

I had an observing buddy in the mid-70's who used an orange tube C8.  It never could get even close to the views that my home-made 8" f/7 Newt put up, side-by-side.  And that was years before Halley.  That was my first exposure to the fact that SCT's weren't generally as good as a same-aperture Newt.  Not until I got a modern C6 about ten years ago, that I finally started getting really good images from an SCT.   

#3 rolo

rolo

Cosmos

• topic starter

Posted 07 August 2019 - 09:36 AM

Looks like a 90mm Chinese Mak!