Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for guidance on how to install and configure Ramdisk

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 PhotonHunter1

PhotonHunter1

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 678
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2015
  • Loc: Northwest IL (for now)

Posted 14 August 2019 - 12:15 PM

Anyone out there have a recommended process on installing ramdisk (app recommendations as well), and how to configure? I am running PI on a Win10 Pro platform with an AMD Ryzen 1700x CPU and 32gb of Ram.

 

Thanks in advance for your assistance.



#2 DuncanM

DuncanM

    Mercury-Atlas

  • -----
  • Posts: 2661
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2009
  • Loc: Arizona Sky Village or the rain forest

Posted 14 August 2019 - 01:17 PM

A ramdisk would use some of your available RAM. It might be better to add an SSD and point your swapfile to that.


  • ngc7319_20 likes this

#3 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1033
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2015
  • Loc: MD

Posted 14 August 2019 - 01:48 PM

Yeah, if you dont have SSD right now, thats the way to go.  Get one installed on some fast internal bus.


  • devisger likes this

#4 PhotonHunter1

PhotonHunter1

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 678
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2015
  • Loc: Northwest IL (for now)

Posted 14 August 2019 - 02:18 PM

A ramdisk would use some of your available RAM. It might be better to add an SSD and point your swapfile to that.

Do you point your swap file within PI or through Ramdisk? I found the DRDataRam site that has a free version of Ramdisk where you can set up to 1gb swap space. Ram lite = up to 12gb, and Ram extreme = up to 64gb.



#5 PhotonHunter1

PhotonHunter1

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 678
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2015
  • Loc: Northwest IL (for now)

Posted 14 August 2019 - 02:22 PM

Yeah, if you dont have SSD right now, thats the way to go.  Get one installed on some fast internal bus.

I do have a 256 gb M.2 ssd where I've loaded Win 10 Pro and PI (could I use this ssd?). I have two 4tb Barracuda SATA drives for all the image files. I believe my mobo has another ssd slot that I could use. Is there a noticeable difference if using ram vs ssd for the swap?


Edited by mike8888, 14 August 2019 - 02:24 PM.


#6 NGC 2419

NGC 2419

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2018

Posted 14 August 2019 - 02:37 PM

I found an interesting article on this topic here. http://dslr-astropho...p-file-storage/

 

Clear skies!


  • PhotonHunter1 likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics