Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Focuser position don't change (RCX400 12")

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 smitty0

smitty0

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Republic of Moldova, Chisinau

Posted 15 August 2019 - 03:45 AM

Hi!

 

Recenly i bought used RCX400 12", with dead motherboard, but i found (from astroboot.eu) new motherboard, and now everiting is worked, only focuser don't show data (freeze at 0.00mm).

All cables checked, everything seems to be fine, but focuser show 0.00mm position. Motors work fine. Restore to default collimation work fine. Calibrate wocus work fine.

 

 

I attach screenshot from MyScope with focuser data. Version of Autostar II updated to 2.2I

 

Hope someone can help me ;)

 

Thanks!
Oleg

Attached Thumbnails

  • focuser data.png


#2 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 15 August 2019 - 04:11 AM

Gday Oleg

I havent seen data like that from an RCX in over 10 years :-)

Based on it being 2.2I ( ie patched ) it should return data.

Soooo, do the focus motors actually work???

If so, i will probably need to see a log file to see whats going on

as i have done lots of changes over the last 10 years but cant test

if any have affected the RCX bits in my app.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • smitty0 likes this

#3 smitty0

smitty0

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Republic of Moldova, Chisinau

Posted 15 August 2019 - 05:08 AM

Gday Oleg

I havent seen data like that from an RCX in over 10 years :-)

Based on it being 2.2I ( ie patched ) it should return data.

Soooo, do the focus motors actually work???

If so, i will probably need to see a log file to see whats going on

as i have done lots of changes over the last 10 years but cant test

if any have affected the RCX bits in my app.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia

Hi Andrew!

 

Yes, focus motors work fine. A small video: https://youtu.be/PndCSJsqXqU

 

Log file attached (hope is what you need...).

 

Thanks!

Attached Files



#4 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 15 August 2019 - 05:34 AM

Gday Oleg

The data in that log makes no sense at all :-)

I have never seen anything like it

I see the text "bluetooth" in there but nothing matches the expected data

How are you connecting???

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#5 smitty0

smitty0

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Republic of Moldova, Chisinau

Posted 15 August 2019 - 06:26 AM

Hi Andrew,

 

Attached fresh log. I connect through USB port from mount base (COM 16).

 

BTW, don't know why, but USB periodically reconnect.

 

Thank you!

Attached Files


Edited by smitty0, 15 August 2019 - 09:32 AM.


#6 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 15 August 2019 - 07:14 AM

Gday Oleg

The second log looks more normal but has a date of 2004 ????

Have you actually got a gps fix or entered a date/time on booting???

 

Also, can you do a connect and then run the rcx focusser diagnostic tab

and then save the log so i can see what comes back.

The firmware version you have loaded is correct for the diagnostics tab

so something should come back.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#7 smitty0

smitty0

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Republic of Moldova, Chisinau

Posted 15 August 2019 - 07:56 AM

Hi Andrew,

 

After factory reset didn't enter current date :)

 

Attached log files.

 

Thank you for help!

Oleg

Attached Files



#8 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 15 August 2019 - 04:54 PM

Gday Oleg

OK, the GPS is getting the correct data but isnt fixing

The focusser log doesnt help as such

what i wanted was the raw commands log, to see what got sent.

The tabsheet for focusser doesnt do any polling, you have to do snapshots as required.

ie boot the mount, connect my app

go to the RCX focus tab

hit the "recalculate" button and it should populate with the current data.

grab a dump for yourself

now use the handbox to adjust the focus

hit the "recalculate" button it should populate with the "new" current data

grab a dump for yourself

Now save the master logging tab log and send it to me and i can see whats changed and what commands got sent.

You can also simply compare the before and after dumps to see what changed

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#9 smitty0

smitty0

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Republic of Moldova, Chisinau

Posted 16 August 2019 - 12:03 AM

Hi Andrew,

 

I made other cable, for connect to RS232 port on scope, now USB connection work perfect.

 

I attach logs (hope is what you need).

 

Thanks,

Oleg

Attached Files


Edited by smitty0, 16 August 2019 - 12:55 AM.



CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics