•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Autoguiding PHD and Sharpcap issues

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 C&Hobbs

C&Hobbs

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 August 2019 - 06:51 PM

Hello all,

It seems I am way over my head here; and am in desperate need of some help. (very much an embellishment as life could offer so much worse) I invested in some autoguiding equipment and have encountered some issues. I am very new to astrophotography but decided to use autoguiding to take some of my pictures to the next level; through research it seemed fairly easy! waytogo.gif Famous last words. 

Anyways I currently have a very modest Z61 scope on a very modest skyguider pro. (DSLR as well) I invested in a ASI120mm-s guide camera in a small 50mm guide scope. I plan to utilize Sharpcap for polar alignment and PHD for guiding. 

I first installed the ASI camera (drivers) on my laptop as directed in the manual. Connected the camera to the guidescope after removing the lens as directed. Connected the laptop to the camera via the USB cable and the ST4 cable to the Skyguider Pro. Easy enough...

Last night I did a rough polar alignment then opened Sharpcap. In sharpcap I selected my camera from the camera menu. Set the exposure to 2sec gain to around 75. Went to tools>polar align but couldn't platesolve due to the application not being able to recognize enough stars. I thought I could focus the guidescope through the image in Sharpcap but that wasn't the case. With my main thought being my issue might be the focus on the guidescope  I opened PHD and tried to focus through this application. No luck... Screen completely black even after experimenting with the PHD settings and guidescope focus.