•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Point and track mounts?

beginner mount
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 StarAlert

StarAlert

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Claremont CA

Posted 16 August 2019 - 11:11 PM

I’m new to this hobby. I’ve been using an Orion Star Seeker IV 150mm reflector for about six months. I’d like to upgrade to a nice refractor (4”-5”) for viewing only. I have no desire to get into AP. The star seeker has a Goto mount, but I’ve never used it because I like finding the target myself. Are there mounts available that allow me to find a target and then track it? 

#2 shaesavage

shaesavage

Vostok 1

• Loc: Saskatchewan, Canada

Posted 16 August 2019 - 11:46 PM

The Losmandy GM8 will meet your needs. 

• Hesiod and StarAlert like this

#3 sg6

sg6

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 17 August 2019 - 02:22 AM

Yes there are, but getting rare. In the skywatcher range there are EQ5 moiunts that can come without motors etc and you buy a motor set. Then you have tracking but not goto so you find everything. Used to do that on most/all their mounts but now they supply mount with goto, above the EQ5. Leave EQ5 and EQ3-2 that you buy non-goto on and fit ot not.

I suspect that soon the EQ5 will only be made available as goto.

• StarAlert likes this

#4 macdonjh

macdonjh

Skylab

Posted 17 August 2019 - 12:54 PM