•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

what am I doing wrong

accessories beginner equipment
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 mike eddleman

mike eddleman

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 August 2019 - 04:59 AM

I tried searching for the answers but didn't find anything or plain just not understanding what i'm reading I guess, but Of course I'm new to all of this, I bought a used 10 inch dobsonian and extra eye pieces, they are 6,8,28,32 and some others and a 2x doubler, the telescope is a 1200mm at f 4.7 friday night was a full moon and I really thought with all that i bought I would have been really able to see just about inside the creators but I did see the some outlines of them but not really as close as I thought, I'm going by by looking at youtube videos of others with the same equipment as mine, just wondering if i.m doing something wrong or am i expecting to much from what i bought? any thoughts?

#2 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Apollo

• Loc: MD

Posted 18 August 2019 - 05:32 AM

Full moon is not the best time to see details on craters.  The lighting is very flat, and contrast is poor.  Better time will be in a few days, like last quarter.

What eyepiece were you using?  Sometimes too much power (especially if the air is unsteady) will make disappointing, blurry views.  A great deal depends on whether the atmosphere is steady.  Rapid temperature changes and wind tend to make for blurry views.

• Jon Isaacs, Ulmer Spatz, ww321q and 1 other like this

#3 mike eddleman

mike eddleman

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 August 2019 - 05:39 AM

I tried every eyepiece i had just to see what each would do, like I said I'm new so wasn't really sure what to expect so I tried them all, I also have a moon filter that I was using. 

#4 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Apollo

• Loc: MD