•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

NV - Complete NV newbie asking some questions

• Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 spereira

spereira

Apollo

• Moderators
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Bedford, NH

Posted 18 August 2019 - 12:15 PM

Hello folks,

I am a complete newbie to the thought of using (never mind actually acquiring) NV equipment for astronomy.

Here's my background:  

I've been in the astronomy hobby for quite some time as a visual observer.  Many years ago, when web cam astronomy was blossoming, I gave it a try, but never really got past getting a simple web cam modded and working.  I did attach it to my scope, and then the problems started with getting things to come into focus, etc.  My goal was only to be able to see what the scope was pointed at on a separate screen, so family members could see what I was raving about without the hassle of looking through the eyepiece.  Suffice it to say the web cam stuff did not work out for me, and got set aside in favor of simply doing visual observing.

I have acquired a few bits of reasonable quality equipment, and I have enjoyed solar, lunar, and planetary viewing as the weather conditions (and mosquito conditions, and long daylight in the summertime) up here in New England will allow.  And, of course, the light pollution in my area has only increased over time.  I remember (again back in the beginning of electronic imaging) the wonder of watching someone actually get an image coming from their scope while it was still daylight.  With "real time" equipment like that, maybe light pollution won't be such an impediment?