•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

NEW to astrophotography, EQUIPMENT ADVICE!

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 wgioia717

wgioia717

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 August 2019 - 07:20 AM

Hey guys, I'm very new to astrophotography and also to this website.  I'm very interested in getting started.  I've been doing a lot of research over the past two months and I am currently planning to get my setup up and running within the next several months.  Needless to say there are so many options and a dizzying array of equipment.  My interests are in photographing deep space objects and galaxies.  The first purchase I made towards that end was a Canon rebel T7i DSLR.  These are the scopes I have been considering

1. William optics zenithstar 73 or 81 - I think I understand the difference in the optics, but is there any reason why one would choose one or the other?

2. Explore Scientific ED 80

3. Meade 70mm astrograph

I would likely get a skywatcher HEQ mount for the first two.  For the third option, there is a package that I can buy that comes with the LX 85 mount, which would likely be a bit cheaper overall.  Also, from what I understand you do not need a field flattener with this quad scope, but the tradeoff is some chromatic aberration and difficulty with collimation.  I'm also planning to use a guidescope and camera for autoguiding.  I find this to be a very fascinating and exciting hobby.  Any advice you guys have is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

#2 sink45ny

sink45ny

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Pennsyltucky

Posted 19 August 2019 - 07:51 AM

Put your money where your "mount" is.

I know this advice is not sexy, sorry.

Edited by sink45ny, 19 August 2019 - 09:20 AM.

• Stelios, AhBok and PirateMike like this

#3 rgsalinger

rgsalinger

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Carlsbad Ca