•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question about balancing a scope for Photography (or not).

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SambaChoro

SambaChoro

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Mohegan Lake, NY

Posted 19 August 2019 - 05:33 PM

I'm not sure if this should be posted here but since I wish to track my scope for photography purposes I decided to post here. Administrators fell free to move the post elsewhere if that's the case.

I'm just starting astrophotography. I'm a complete newbie. I'm using WO Redcat 51, Orion mini guide scope, ZWO ASI120mm as guide camera and a Canon T3i on a Ioptron Sky Guider Pro. With the counterweights I have a total of about 10.5 pounds on the tracker.

SGP has a marketed load capacity of 11Lb, what I think is great for a tracker. I always understood the load capacity of any tracker or mount to be the total load said tracker or mount could carry, which also means the counterweights. 

Recently I was told by a friend who works at the optics section of a main camera store that a manufacturer rep told him the load capacity pertains only to the scope and everything else around it, not the counterweights. Is it true?

I've been careful trying to keep my set up under 11 Lb (including counterweights), but according to this I could go over that amount as long as the scope end of the mount is under 11 Lb.

Any thoughts?

#2 TelescopeGreg

TelescopeGreg

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Auburn, California, USA

Posted 19 August 2019 - 06:10 PM

Load capacity, I believe, is listed for just what you are putting on top.  The counterweights aren't included in that.