•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bhatinov mask use on DSLR lens

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 kroberts26

kroberts26

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Southwest FL

Posted 20 August 2019 - 07:56 AM

I'm just getting started in astrophotography using my DSLR and existing 35-105mm lens. Between my poor eyesight and a sticky focus ring on the lens my focusing has been just so-so. I bought a bhatinov mask that clips into my light pollution filter thinking that would give me better confidence that I was properly in focus. When I tried it this morning I was disappointed that focusing on a bright star and taking a picture resulted in a picture of the star and not the diffraction spikes I was expecting. Do bhatinov masks require a longer focal length to be effective or did I miss a step? There were intermittent high wispy clouds if that matters. 

#2 GamesForOne

GamesForOne

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Knoxville, TN

Posted 20 August 2019 - 08:14 AM

You need more exposure time to capture the dimmer diffraction spikes?

---

Michael Mc

#3 dpaigen

dpaigen

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 20 August 2019 - 08:38 AM

I've used a Bhatinov mask on 18-140 and 70-200 lenses and it works just like it does on my 1000mm scope.  The diffraction pattern should be obvious, but (in a camera) you do have to zoom in (digitally & all the way) on a fairly bright star.  Perhaps you have it mounted wrong?  Can you post a picture of your setup?

Note that the diffraction pattern is not large.  I estimate around 5 times the number of pixels that the star itself takes up.  You won't see it without pixel peeping.

-David

#4 kathyastro

kathyastro

Viking 1

• Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 20 August 2019 - 08:52 AM