•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Issues with 9.25 evo

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Sterling1703

Sterling1703

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Nashville, Tennessee

Posted 20 August 2019 - 09:47 AM

Hey everyone! I’m new to the telescope world and I’m having some issues (I hope I’m in the right forum). I’ve read thread after thread and I’m having trouble correcting anything. I’m looking at planets and I’m not seeing what I think I’m supposed to be seeing and it’s rather defeating. Jupiter and Saturn are just fuzzy bright objects with no definition or color differences. I can see the the ring around Saturn but there is no split between the 2, no matter what EP set up I use. Here is my process: I set up my telescope (Celestron 9.25 evolution) and level the tripod about 1-1.5 hours before use. I leave the covers on the front and the back. I remove the front cover and attach my dew shield (I’m currently buying the module for the heater).  I check collimation every time I start (usually on the first star I do my alignment on) and it has been spot on every time. I started using the plossl set from High Point but I recently upgraded to a Celestron X-Cel 25mm and X-Cel 2x Barlow. (I wanted to see if a better EP helped , but it didn’t). I’ve tried with and without the provided Celestron prism diagonal and my views are all the same. If I go with a higher magnification EP (let’s say a 13.5mm) it’s still bad, maybe even worse. During my breakdown I’ve never noticed any moisture either.