•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner - and considering becoming an Ender....

accessories beginner equipment moon observing refractor
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 MissMac22

MissMac22

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 August 2019 - 06:06 PM

Hi all, frustrated beginner here.
I have a Saxon 1206AZ4 Refractor Telescope and am trying to get a closer view of the moon. Closer and still a bit clear if possible.
I asked for help on another thread and got a lot of advice for which I am thankful but in all honesty it confused me even more. I am beginning to see that using a telescope isn't as simple as I was hoping it to be.
Whilst I can see the moon clearly and in its entirety, using a 2x Barlow and a 25mm Plossl lens, I cannot get it to forward focus enough to see the moon clearly - with and without the diagonal/Barlow or anything I had, so I bought, under suggestion from the shop that I bought my scope from, (online - I live in a small town on an island) an 8mm wide scope and a fine tuning ring.
I have no idea how or where the fine tuner ring is meant to fit. Can anyone help?
I tried the 8mm lens by itself and I still cannot forward focus enough to even make out the moon... it's just a bright blur.
Another thing I'd like to know... when looking at stars thru the scope, as I bought it, using either the 25mm Plossl or the 10mm Plossl and no diagonal or Barlow... I see the stars and just more stars that I obviously can't see with the naked eye... but it's just more stars, no planets as such... is that right? Or should I be able to see the likes of Jupiter... far off but still as a planet and not as a star?
Hope someone can help as I am now thinking I have bought a way to expensive "ornament".

Many thanks.
  • maxiecat2016 likes this

#2 Napp

Napp

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Florida, USA