•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8SE - Can't get point like stars

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 Curious Developer

Curious Developer

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 August 2019 - 06:49 PM

All, this is my first post. I am very new to this hobby and I hate for my first post to ask for help, but I am getting frustrated and I do not know anyone that can assist.

I bought a Celestron 8SE a few months ago. I was never able to get good focus for anything so I bought a Celestron Focus Motor. It helps but does not seem to be able to focus that much better than my manual focusing was doing. I also just bought a camera (ASI 294) so I could take some basic pictures. 

I have attached an example image that shows what stars look like from the camera. It supposed to be a picture of the Lagoon Nebula (I hope). Stars appear to be bright and point-like on the right hand side and really fuzzy on the left hand side. I thought it might be collimation, but when I defocus on a star the black spot appears to be centered.

image2.jpg

I am not sure if I have defective optics or if it really is a collimation problem, or if maybe there is some other problem and what I should do. I would really appreciate if anyone could look at my image and provide some guidance for me. Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Sincerely, Curious.

#2 spereira

spereira

Apollo

• Moderators
  • Loc: Bedford, NH

Posted 20 August 2019 - 06:55 PM

I'm going to move this over to Cats & Casses for better visibility for those who may be able to assist.

smp

#3 GoFish

GoFish

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Kentucky / Colorado

Posted 20 August 2019 - 06:56 PM

Are you able to bring objects into focus with a diagonal and eyepiece?

How is your camera connected to the back of the scope?

#4 Curious Developer

Curious Developer

Lift Off